LAWYERS & CONSULTANTS

Robert has a strong track record in countries facing rule of law challenges, offering a unique multi-disciplinary approach to complex issues.  For over thirty years he has represented high-profile clients in commercial, corporate and political cases internationally.  He is experienced in managing, litigating and arbitrating disputes, and through the extensive network he has created he is able to put together “virtual firms” of the best minds in their fields to handle disputes and crises under the best possible representation within the context of both local and international law.

Past clients include the Four Seasons Hotel & Resorts Group, PricewaterhouseCoopers and numerous mining and energy companies operating in emerging markets. In 2003, Robert was retained by Amnesty International-recognized prisoner of conscience Mikhail Khodorkovsky, once Russia’s most prominent oil executive, to defend him against political persecution by the Russian government.  In 2008, he joined the defence team for Eligio Cedeño, a businessman and political prisoner in Venezuela who was later successfully released into freedom.  Robert serves as counsel to prominent opposition leaders such as Dr. Chee Soon Juan in Singapore. In 2010 he was appointed by the former Prime Minister of Thailand Thaksin Shinawatra to defend members of the Red Shirt pro-democracy movement and, in 2013, he was retained by the Internet mogul Kim Dotcom.

Robert represents former President of Zambia Rupiah Banda and his son Henry, with respect to unlawful harassment and persecution by the new government.  In Nigeria, he has represented prominent public figures, having developed an extensive network of political and business leaders that dates back more than three decades.  Among other notables, he has acted for the former Executive Director of Nigeria’s Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, as well as the former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory in Abuja.  In early 2013, Robert won a landmark decision before the United Nations Dispute Tribunal on behalf of a pro-bono client, Dr. Georges Tadonki, whose contract with UNOCHA was not renewed due to political events related to Zimbabwe.

As a prolific columnist and blogger, Robert’s writings have been published in the International Herald Tribune, the Financial Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Fordham International Law Journal, among other publications.  He has delivered keynote speeches to groups such as Chatham House, University College of London, Cato Institute, the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, and numerous energy, mining, and international investment conferences.  Robert has made several television appearances, was nominated to the “Hot 100” by the UK publication The Lawyer, was named “Lawyer of the Week” by the Times in London, and was most recently profiled in the US magazine The American Lawyer.

According to the former British Ambassador to Russia, Andrew Wood, “The word that best describes Bob is courage, both moral and actual.  He raises questions that are not always welcome, and that is often the proper business of a lawyer.”

Robert is a member of the Canadian and International Bar Associations, and is licensed as a Solicitor-Advocate in the United Kingdom.  He earned his BA from Carleton University in Ottawa, and studied law at Queen’s University in Ontario.

Up

AVOCATS ET CONSULTANTS

Me Amsterdam a de solides antécédents en ce qui concerne les pays confrontés à de grands défis de droit et offre son approche pluridisciplinaire à des situations complexes. Pendant plus de trente ans il a représenté des clients prestigieux à l’international dans des affaires commerciales, d’entreprises et politiques. Il est expérimenté en matière de gestion de litiges, du contentieux et de l’arbitrage et, au travers du vaste réseau qu’il a créé, il est à même de mettre en place des « cabinets virtuels », constitués des esprits les plus brillants dans leurs domaines afin de gérer disputes et crises tout en offrant la meilleure représentation possible dans le contexte du droit local et international. 

Au nombre de ses clients passés figurent la Four Seasons Hotel & Resorts Group, PricewaterhouseCoopers et de nombreuses sociétés minières et d’énergies opérant dans les marchés émergeants. En 2003, les services de Robert ont été retenus par le prisonnier de conscience reconnu par Amnistie Internationale, Mikhail Khodorkovsky, jadis le dirigeant  le plus proéminent du domaine pétrolier de la Russie, afin de le défendre contre les persécutions politiques du gouvernement Russe. En 2008, il rejoint l’équipe de défense d’Eligio Cedeno, homme d’affaire et prisonnier politique au Vénézuela, dont la mise en liberté a été ultérieurement obtenue avec succès. Robert agit à titre de conseiller d’importants chefs d’oppositions tels que le Dr. Chee Soo Juan du Singapour. En 2010 il est choisi par l’ancien premier ministre de la Thaïlande, Thaksin Shinawatra, afin de défendre les membres du mouvement pro-démocratique du Red Shirt et, en 2013, ses services sont retenus par le magnat de l’Internet, Kim Dotcom.

Me Amsterdam représente l’ancien Président du Zambia, Rupiah Banda et son fils Henry, dans le cadre d’harcèlements et de persécutions par le nouveau gouvernement. Au Nigéria, il a représenté d’importantes personnalités publiques, ayant développé un large réseau de dirigeants politiques et commerciaux depuis plus de trois décennies. Parmi d’autres personnalités, il a agi pour l’ancien Directeur Exécutif de la Commission des crimes Economiques et Financiers du Nigéria, ainsi que pour l’ancien Ministre du Territoire de la capitale fédérale d’Abuja. Au début de l’année 2013, Robert a obtenu une décision historique du Tribunal du contentieux administratif des Nations Unis à l’égard d’un client pro bono, le Dr. Georges Tadonki, dont le contrat avec l’UNOCHA n’avait pas été renouvelé en raison d’évènements politiques liés au Zimbabwe.

En tant que chroniqueur et blogueur prolifique, les écrits de  Robert ont été publiés dans l’International Herald Tribune,  le Financial Times, le Wall Street Journal, le Washington Post, et le Fordham International Law Journal, parmi d’autres publications. Il a effectué des discours clés devant plusieurs groupes tels que Chatham House, l’University College de Londres, l’institut Cato, le Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, ainsi qu’à l’occasion de nombreuses conférences portant sur l’énergie, l’exploitation minière, et les investissements internationaux. Robert a fait l’objet de plusieurs apparitions télévisées, il a été nominé au « Hot 100 » dans une publication du Royaume-Uni The Lawyer, il a été nommé « Avocat de la semaine » par le Times de Londres, et a récemment été décrit dans le US magazine comme L’Avocat Américain.

Selon l’ancien Ambassadeur britannique auprès de la Russie, Andrew Wood, « Le meilleur terme pour  décrire Bob est le courage, aussi bien moral qu’en action. Il soulève les questions que ne sont pas toujours bienvenues, et c’est souvent cela le métier propre à l’avocat ».

Me Amsterdam est membre des Associations des Barreaux Canadiens et Internationaux, et est habilité à pratique en qualité d’Avocat-Conseil au Royaume-Uni. Il a obtenu sa licence en droit de l’Université Carleton à Ottawa, et a étudié le droit à l’Université Queen’s en Ontario.

Haut de page